Saturday, 30 January 2016 CSI3* CSI1* CSIYH1* GHPC

Start-finishing-line-victory for Gert-Jan Bruggink in Gaston Glock’s Championat

Today the GHPC indoor arena was filled up to the last seat at the CSI3* Gaston Glock’s Championat. The audience kept their fingers crossed for all of the 34 participants in this jumping competition with jump-off over 1.50 m. Because this time it was not only about world ranking list points but also about the second chance to qualify for tomorrow’s GLOCK’s 3* Grand Prix.

Particularly in the double combination of obstacle 5a/5b and the mighty final oxer number 13, there were quite a lot of knock-downs in the basic round. But eight duos managed to remain penalty-free. As in the first round, so in the jump-off, Gert-Jan Bruggink (NED) was the first starter, setting the pace, and he remained unbeatable till the end. With his 15-year-old KWPN mare MCB Ulke, he took the risks and was rewarded with first place in 40.52 seconds. This was the second big GLOCK success for the Dutch rider after his victory in Gaston Glock’s Grand Prix Magna Racino in May 2015.

Second place went to Jaroslaw Skrzyczynski and Crazy Quick, a duo from Poland. They were beaten just by a hair’s breadth, finishing the jump-off in 40.76 seconds. Third place went, in a time of 40.91 seconds, to the defender of the title of the GLOCK’s 3* Grand Prix, William Whitaker (GBR), on Balibu.

Austria’s Alice Janout (AUT/NÖ) on Wodka Lime took eighth place (12/56.32 jump-off), the best hosting country result, followed directly by Markus Saurugg (AUT/St) on Texas I in ninth place (4/69.20).

Int. jumping competition with jump-off max. 1.50 m
2nd qualifier for the GLOCK’s 3* GRAND PRIX
This competition counts for LONGINES Ranking List

1. MCB Ulke - Bruggink, Gert Jan (NED) 0/40.52 jump-off
2. Crazy Quick - Skrzyczynski, Jaroslaw (POL) 0/40.76 jump-off
3. Balibu - Whitaker, William (GBR) 4/40.91 jump-off
4. Perigueux - Bitter, Eva (GER) 4/42.22 jump-off
5. Que Pasa 5 - Kazmierczak, Michal (POL) 8/42.80 jump-off
6. Charismo C - Philippaerts, Nicola (BEL) 8/43.49 jump-off
7. Abache HL - Verhagen, Charlotte (NED) 8/46.86 jump-off
8. Wodka Lime - Janout, Alice (AUT/NÖ) 12/56.32 jump-off
9. Texas I - Saurugg, Markus (AUT/St) 4/69.20 round 1
10.Pirate Andalou - Marschall, Marcel (GER) 4/69.52 round 1
11.Cayen van het Hobos - Cox, Karel (BEL) 4/72.04 round 1
12.Cupido van de Hoefslag Z - Swartz, Erica (SWE) 4/72.10 round 1
Link to results

Gert-Jan Bruggink (NED) and MCB Ulke were simply not to be beaten in the CSI3* Gaston Glock’s Championat. © Michael Rzepa

Jaroslaw Skrzyczynski (POL) and Crazy Quick completed the CSI3* Gaston Glock’s Championat in second place. © Michael Rzepa

GLOCK’s 3* Grand Prix title defender William Whitaker (GBR) rode with style in the CSI3* Gaston Glock’s Championat with Balibu and took third place. © Michael Rzepa

Alice Janout (AUT/NÖ) with Wodka Lime got to the jump-off in the CSI3* Gaston Glock’s Championat and came eighth. © Michael Rzepa

Markus Saurugg (AUT/St) and Texas I secured ninth place in the CSI3* Gaston Glock’s Championat. © Michael Rzepa

Well-earned victory in the CSI3* Gaston Glock’s Championat: Gert-Jan Bruggink (NED) on MCB Ulke. © GHPC / studiohorst